This Month In Music – April 2019

April has arrived, and with that is arguable the biggest stage to release new music on, Coachella. Skimming through new music from hundreds of local and international acts, here are our picks for this month. This is The Month in Music – April 2019.

You’ll also like:
This Month In Music – March 2019
This Month In Music – February 2019
This Month In Music – November 2018


Allday – Protection

Locking in his 3rd album for later this year, Australian artist Allday is back on the scene with a lush new jam ‘Protection’. Layering smooth guitar, punching beat production and Allday’s energetic yet melancholic vocals, ‘Protection’ gives us a delightful hint of what to expect from his forthcoming new music. ‘Protection’ was mixed by Atlanta producer and Young Thug’s go-to engineer, Alex Tumay, who’s also worked with 21 Savage, Metro Boomin, and Migos.


Jessie Reyez & 6LACK – Imported

Released as Zane Lowe’s World Record on Beats 1, superstar singer Jessie Reyez has teamed up with 6LACK on a re-edit of her single which featured on her 2018 mixtape ‘Being Human In Public’, and is set to appear on her upcoming album later this year.


Tame Impala – Patience

Ahead of his headline performance on one of the world’s most renowned festivals Coachella, Kevin Parker’s Tame Impala have released two new singles ‘Patience’ and ‘Borderline’. While both tracks are an exceptional return to form for the Australian all-round talent, ‘Patience’ has certainly raised some eyebrows with a refreshing implementation of new instruments including lush house piano chords and an irresistible groove of congas. Both tracks are as dreamy as ever and has us praying for more rhythmic congas on any of his forthcoming material.


Avicii – SOS feat. Aloe Blacc

A year since the tragic passing of Swedish powerhouse producer Avicii (Tim Bergling), Bergling’s family have released Tim’s posthumous single ‘SOS’ featuring past collaborator Aloe Blacc. With all profits going towards the Tim Bergling Foundation, the release came alongside a statement from Tim’s family about the record and why they decided to release it to the world.

“Tim wanted to make a difference,” the statement read. “Starting a foundation in his name is our way to honor his memory and continue to act in his spirit.”


Mark Ronson – Late Night Feelings feat. Lykke Li

Super producer Mark Ronson has announced his forthcoming album, alongside his new single of the same title ‘Late Night Feelings’. Featuring the sultry vocals of Swedish Singer/Songwriter Lykke Li, ‘Late Night Feelings’ dips into mellow forms of disco, with effortlessly upbeat production and slapping basslines. Following up from his Miley Cyrus collaboration ‘Nothing Breaks Like a Heart’, Ronson has delightfully set the tone for what’s to come from the producer-maestro.


Owl Eyes – You and I

Renowned in the Australian music scene for a number of years and notably a regular performer on the live circuit with Flight Facilities, Melbourne based Singer-Songwriter Owl Eyes is back on the scene with her second solo single in the past 6 years. Produced by Belgian disco producer Aeroplane (Vito de Luca) ‘You and I’ is filled with spectacular grooving elements of basslines and arpeggiations from the get-go. Owl Eyes’ dreamy voice reminds us of her incredible talent, and has us wondering why we’ve waited so long for new music. We have a feeling she’s got plenty more new music lined up for us this year.



Vampire Weekend – This Life

Having been flying under the radar without any new music over the past few years, the sudden influx of new music from New York City’s Vampire Weekend is giving us life. Fittingly their latest single ‘This Life’ opens with the teasingly familiar guitar sounds from their previous hit records, and was co-written alongside ILoveMakonen and Mark Ronson. Even including a line from ILoveMakonnen’s ‘Tonight’. ‘This Life’ features on Vampire Weekends’ upcoming album ‘Father of the Bride’, which drops on May 3rd.


Hatchie – Stay With Me</h3

Over the past few years Hatchie has broken out as one of Australia’s most promising indie-pop talents and her new single ‘Stay With Me’ reaffirms her status as she prepares for a debut album release in June. ‘Stay With Me’ is a danceable and melancholic affair, backed by 90s synth, lush vocals and a music video directed by Joe Agius.

Talking about the single, Hatchie said “Stay With Me was written as a writing exercise in an effort to step away from my usual style into something more fun and dancey. We originally wrote it with someone else in mind, but realized it was the perfect fit for my album as I wanted to expand into a different sound. It became one of my favourite songs on the record because I’m a sucker for crying-in-the-club tracks.”


Kaytranada & VanJess – Dysfunctional

Canadian beat-maker Kaytranada does what he does best, laying down some bubbling synth work, teaming up with Nigerian-American sister duo VanJess on ‘Dysfunctional’. The release follows the low-key ‘NOTHIN LIKE U/CHANCES’ EP which dropped towards the back end of 2018. Could there be more new music on the cards for Kaytranada this year?


Album of the Month: Billie Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?

It’s early days, however we’re possibly looking at the biggest album of the 2019. The 17-year old phenomenon has accomplished just about everything from sold out shows, breaking streaming records and even going on to become the youngest-ever female artist to top the UK Album Charts. With a string of streaming hits, her debut album ‘When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?’ solidifies her place at the top of the pop-music world, despite her sound not representing the traditional form of pop music at all. The record is forward thinking and will likely spur a change for traditional pop music as we know it.



You’ll also like:
This Month In Music – March 2019
This Month In Music – February 2019
This Month In Music – November 2018