The World’s 9 Best Single Malt Whiskies

Many may debate or have opinions on the world’s best single malt whisky, particularly when that whisky isn’t from Scotland, but fortunately there is one definitive authority when it comes to deciding this. The annual World Whiskies Awards is a blind tasting competition of epic proportions that seeks and names the world’s best whiskies. Traditionally dominated by the Scots and the Japanese, the whisky world was thrown upside down last year, excuse the pun, when Tasmanian single malt, Sullivans Cove, was named the world’s best whisky. The 2015 winners were recently announced and the crown has gone even further afield than Tasmania! So without further ado here are the world’s nine best single malt whiskies.

2007, Scotland – Talisker 18 Years Old

2008, Japan – Yoichi 20 Years Old

2009, Scotland – Highland Park 21 Years Old

2010, Scotland – Ardbeg Corryvreckan

2011, Japan – Yamazaki 1984

2012, Japan – Yamazaki 25 Years Old

2013, Scotland – Ardbeg Galileo

2014, Australia – Sullivans Cove French Oak

2015, Taiwan – Kavalan Vinho Barrique