worlds 9 best single malt whiskies

The World’s 9 Best Single Malt Whiskies in 2015

Many may debate or have opinions on the world’s best single malt whisky, particularly when that whisky isn’t from Scotland, but fortunately there is one definitive authority when it comes to deciding this. The annual World Whiskies Awards is a blind tasting competition of epic proportions that seeks and names the world’s best whiskies. Traditionally dominated by the Scots and the Japanese, the whisky world was thrown upside down last year, excuse the pun, when Tasmanian single malt, Sullivans Cove, was named the world’s best whisky. The 2015 winners were recently announced and the crown has gone even further afield than Tasmania! So without further ado here are the world’s nine best single malt whiskies.

  1. 2007, Scotland – Talisker 18 Years Old
  2. 2008, Japan – Yoichi 20 Years Old
  3. 2009, Scotland – Highland Park 21 Years Old
  4. 2010, Scotland – Ardbeg Corryvreckan
  5. 2011, Japan – Yamazaki 1984
  6. 2012, Japan – Yamazaki 25 Years Old
  7. 2013, Scotland – Ardbeg Galileo
  8. 2014, Australia – Sullivans Cove French Oak
  9. 2015, Taiwan – Kavalan Vinho Barrique